Veganism is the practice of abstaining from the use of animal products, particularly in diet, and an associated philosophy that rejects the commodity status of animals.
A follower of the diet or the philosophy is known as a vegan Distinctions may be made between several categories of veganism. Dietary vegans (also known as strict vegetarians) refrain from consuming animal products, not only meat but also eggs, dairy products and other animal-derived substances.
The word “vegan” was coined by Donald Watson in 1944 by taking the first three letters and last two letters of the word “vegetarian”. … The New Oxford American English Dictionary defines “vegan” as “a person who does not eat or use animal products.”
Vegan diets lowered the risk of type 2 diabetes, high blood pressure, obesity, and ischemic heart disease, as well tend to be higher in dietary fiber, magnesium, folic acid, vitamin C, vitamin E, iron, and phytochemicals; and lower in dietary energy, saturated fat, cholesterol, long-chain omega-3 fatty acids, vitamin D, calcium, zinc, and vitamin B12.
Well-planned vegan diets are regarded as appropriate for all stages of life, including during infancy and pregnancy, by the American Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, Dietitians of Canada,Australian National Health and Medical Research Council, New Zealand Ministry of Health, Harvard Medical School, and the British Dietetic Association.
Non-Vegan Ingredients Animal products to look for in ingredient lists
Casein (Milk byproduct) Casein is a protein derived from Milk, casein will be listed as an ingredient in non-dairy food items
Confectioner’s Glaze on Candy
Also listed as resinous glaze, shellac, natural glaze, or pure food glaze, this glaze comes from the hardened resinous material secreted by the lac insect (not the most appetizing source). It is mainly harvested from the trees in which these insects reside. You can most likely find this ingredient on candies that have a super glossy sheen, which is a result of confectioner’s glaze.
Gelatin and Gelatin Products
Derived from animal collagen, gelatin is a colorless odorless gelling agent often found in candies or other processed foods, particularly marshmallows, fruit snacks, and jelly candies. It’s also sold under the brand-name of Jell-O.
Isinglass in Beer and Wine
Isinglass is a clarifying agent used when making wine and brewing beer. It is derived from fish bladders and is therefore not vegan. There’s no way of knowing by tasting whether your beer or wine has been filtered through fish bladders, but many brewers and wineries list their ingredients on their websites.
L. Cysteine in Bread Products
This ingredient, often sourced from feathers or human hair, is a dough conditioner listed in some pre-packaged breads and baked goods. Check labels carefully for this ingredient as it may be hiding in the ingredient lists of white and wheat bread.
Whey in Bread and Sweets
Whey is a common ingredient in many foods, especially bread and candies, and is a by-product of cheese making. Whey is the liquid that remains once milk has been curdled, or churned, and then strained. Once milk has been curdled, it easily separates into curd (solid) and whey (liquid). Whey protein is often added to nutritional supplements and protein shakes.
#plantbasednutrition #nutritiontips #vegannutrition #nutritionfacts #nutritioncoach #digestivehealth#nutritionplan #plantbasedlife#nutritionable #phytonutrients #guthealing #nutrientdense #nutritionaltherapy #nutritioncoaching #healingfoods #ketoadaptdd
#nutritiontips #nutritionschool #nutritioniskey #nutritional #fitnessnutrition #healthynutrition #nutritionalcleansing #healthier#healthyweightloss #healthfirst #healthtips #healthgoals #weightlossdiet
#weightlossfood #JackFruit #IrishMoss #EatDrinkVegan
#Vegan #GoVegan #VeganCommunity #PlantBased #VeganFoodShare #WhatVegansEat#VeganFood #VeganLife #HappyVegan #VeganWoman #VeganTips #VeganGirl #VeganDaily #VegansOfIg